Hurling and Camogie Club

2022 Underage Awards Night

We had a fabulous night of celebrations last Friday or our Under 13-18 teams across hurling, camogie and rounders. Outgoing Juvenile Chairperson Gabrielle Breathnach opened the night and has overseen significant growth at underage level since she took on the job 5 years ago. A presentation prepared by Dean Moore on the night highlighted how active the club has become. You can check the slideshow out by clicking here.

Overall it was a very successful year with the following underage teams picking up a cup, shield or medals in our 120th year:

  • Under 12 Hurling D4 Runners-Up
  • Under 13 Camogie D3 Championship Winners
  • Under 13 Rounders All-Ireland Feile Shield Winners
  • Under 14 Hurling D4 Shield Runners-Up
  • Under 15 Hurling Feile Shield Runners-Up
  • Under 15 Hurling D3 Runners-Up
  • Under 16 Hurling C Championship Runners-Up
  • Under 17 Hurling D3 Runners-Up
  • Under 18 Camogie Shield Runners-Up
  • Under 18 Camogie D4 League Winners
  • Under 19 Hurling D Championship Winners

Many thanks to Deirdre Kedney and the organizing committee for making the Under 13-18 event happen and also to Loreto College for facilitating us with a venue. Club President Philomena Crampton, Vice President John Ryan and Inter County camogie player Meadhbh Hicks presented the awards to the various players who were nominated for the following awards for 2022:

Under 12 Camogie

  • Player of the Year: Chloe Madden
  • Most Improved Player: Anna Mc Loughlin
  • Most Committed Player: Rachel Leahy

Under 13 Camogie

  • Player of the Year: Aisling Fitzgerald
  • Most Improved Player: Matilda Graham
  • Most Committed Player: Beibhinn Berube

Under 13 Hurling

  • Player of the Year: Cian O’Toole
  • Most Improved and Committed. Billy Hickey

Under 13 Rounders

  • Best Fielder : Padraic Barrett
  • Best Catcher : Sadbh Doogan
  • Best Batter : Conor Doorley
  • Best Newcomer : Cora O’Dowd
  • Leadership Award : Chloe Madden

Under 14 Hurling

  • Player of the Year: Fionn Roche
  • Most improved: Daniel Obeimhen
  • Most committed: Brian Marshall

Under 15 Camogie

  • Player of the Year : Holly Corrigan
  • Most Improved Player : Lucy Doyle
  • Most Committed Player : Ella Williams

Under 15 Hurling

  • Player of the Year : Christopher Tuite
  • Most Improved Player : Joe Purcell
  • Most Committed Player : Jack Diamond

Under 16 Hurling

  • Player of the Year : Mark Doyle
  • Most Improved Player : Aodán McGrath
  • Most Committed Player : Brendan Doorley

Under 17 Hurling

  • Player of the Year : Karl Grogan
  • Most Improved Player : Adam Jordan
  • Most Committed Player : Tom Crampton

Under 18 Camogie

  • Player(s) of the Year : Sophie Madden & Savannah Maguire
  • Most Improved Player : Elena Murphy
  • Most Committed Player : Saoirse Hamilton-Birdy